Contact Us
Stamford Daily Voice serves Stamford, CT
Return to your home site


Stamford Daily Voice serves Stamford, CT

Nearby Towns

police & fire

U.S. Attorney Celebrates Community Policing In Stamford

Deirdre Daly
Deirdre Daly Photo Credit: Department of Justice website

STAMFORD, Conn. -- A Community Policing Awards Ceremony last week recognized 22 law enforcement officers and community members in Connecticut.

The ceremony in New Haven was hosted by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Connecticut.

“At heart, community policing is a philosophy that each of us, members of law enforcement and communities alike, have a stake in keeping our cities and towns safe and secure places to live,” said Deirdre Daly, U.S. Attorney for the District of Connecticut. “During National Community Policing Week, we celebrate our commitment to supporting the practice of community policing. Police can never solve public safety problems alone. We encourage active community collaboration to improve safety, build public trust and deepen understanding between police and the communities they serve."

The nominees, whom Daly called "excellent examples of the best in community policing and community relations," are:

Beacon Falls Police Department Officer Caroline O’Bar

Bristol Police Department Officer Jace Deluca

Connecticut State Police Trooper First Class Stephen Pickett , Killingly Resident Trooper

Coventry Police Department Sgt. Michael McDonagh

Farmington Police Department Officer Joseph P. Capodiferro

Hartford Police Department Lt. Michael Cacioli, Lt. Gabriel Laureano

Ledyard Police Department Officer Rick McSwain

Middletown Police Department Sgt. Michael Lukanik

New Haven Police Department Officer Elsa Berrios

Norwalk Police Department Lt. Terrence Blake, Sgt. Sophia Gulino, Officer Felipe Taborda

Norwalk Police Department Officer Cesar Ramirez.

Norwich Police Department Officer Christopher Chastang

Town of Southington Chris Conlon, Smokin With Chris

Stamford Police Department and Domus Kids Inc., Sgt. Joe Kennedy, Francesca Principe

Stamford Police Department, Officer Jerry Junes

Suffield Police Department, Sgt. Geoffrey Miner, Dispatcher Nicholas Fasano

Windsor Police Department, Officer Joshua Amar

To see the full release and for more information about the nominees, click here.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Stamford Daily Voice!

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Stamford Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.