Contact Us
Stamford Daily Voice serves Stamford, CT
Return to your home site


Stamford Daily Voice serves Stamford, CT

Nearby Towns


Stamford Democrats Back David Martin For Mayor

David Martin, middle, will be looking to make his second run for mayor of Stamford this November after receiving the nomination from the Democratic City Committee.
David Martin, middle, will be looking to make his second run for mayor of Stamford this November after receiving the nomination from the Democratic City Committee. Photo Credit: Anthony Buzzeo

STAMFORD, Conn. — Board of Finance member David Martin was endorsed by the Stamford Democratic City Committee on Wednesday night to represent the party in this year’s mayoral race.

“It’s time to put Stamford and its residents first,” Martin said after receiving the nomination. He said he would be open to all residents and strive to give everyone a fair chance, two things he feels have not happened during Michael Pavia’s administration and won’t happen if a Republican is chosen this November.

“For the past four years Republicans on the 10th floor have shortchanged the citizens of Stamford.”

Martin was one of the three candidates considered, defeating state Rep. William Tong and former Director of Public Safety, Health, and Wellness William Callion. Martin added that he hopes everyone in the party will unite in supporting him and the other candidates on the ballot.

“I look forward to the primary,” Tong said after hearing the outcome, congratulating Martin and Callion, “Now we’re going to let the voters decide.”

The committee endorsed Richard Friedman, Michael Buccino and Althea Brown for the Board of Finance.  Only one of the three can be elected because of the current Democrat to Republican ratio on the board.

Running for the Board of Education will be Geoff Alswanger, current president of the board, along with current board member Ricahrd Lyons, and Delores Burgess. Two of the three can be elected.

Endorsed candidates for the Board of Representatives will be:

District 1: Patrick White and Patrick Mazen

District 2: Elaine Mitchell and Benjamin Velishka

District 3: Terry Adams and Elise Coleman

District 4: Willy Giraldo and Dr. Mary Savage

District 5: Gloria DePina and Lila Wallace

District 6: Dennis Patterson and Annie Summerville

District 7: James Fountain and Mark Nowotarski

District 8: Anabel Figueroa and Eileen Heaphy

District 9: Valerie McNeil and Shella Merritt

District 10: Philip Giordano and Mavina Moore

District 11: Cynthia Reeder and John Zelinsky Jr.

District 12: Brien Muckman and Marion McGarry

District 13: Keith Silver and Eric Morson

District 14: Jon Gallup and Madeline Shapiro

District 15: No candidates

District 16: Jonathan Hoffman and Matthew Quinones

District: 17: Jonathan Rosenbaum and Suzanne Doyle

District 18: Eileen Heckerling and Jere Eaton

District 19: Randall Skigen and Cindy Grafstein

District 20: Mark Diamond and Susan Nable

Several of the nominations may be place holders.

John Mallozzi, chairman of the city committee, was nominated for Town Clerk. He said it is the first time in years the party has nominated someone for the position. He also mentioned holding the position as a place holder.

The committee chose Ralph Serrafino, Giordano, DePina, and Jon Gallup to run for re-election to constable.

Candidates who were not endorsed can file petitions by Aug. 7, and a primary will be held on Sept. 10, if necessary. Election Day this year falls on Nov. 5.

The Republican Town Committee made its nominations on Tuesday night. View them here .

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Stamford Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.